Current Obsession on the Web other than Diaryland
Gaia Online anime roleplaying community

Mr. Flibble and Rimmer

I think Mr. Flibble... LIKES you.

If you join the Eccentric diary ring, he just might LIKE you more...

Then, take the Eccentricity Survey.

Oh, and here's another Eccentric Survey.

Got Brains?

Saturday, Apr. 05, 2008 @ 8:55 A.M.

Sakura Con 2008 part 1...

Wow, it has been a week since the convention and I still cannot wrap my head around that fact. The con seemed to come and go and then I went back to work all week and now it is the weekend again. I think part of the problem for me was that I was practically brain-dead when I went back on Monday. My mind and body were exhausted from con stuffs and then we had our free inkjet refill day which was also completely mind-numbing... ugh. I hate having to do inkjet refills all day. Not only do I get ink all over my hands and it does not come out for DAYS, but I get headaches from the smell of the ink and cleaners. Thankfully, this year went a whole lot more smoothly than last year's.
Anyways, Sakura Con was fun! We did our trek into Starbucks before heading out to the convention center and boy, did we turn heads. I was like, "Why are there so many people in here? Don't people work anymore?" Heh... silly non-workers staring at us...
My first day there (Friday) I was not really thinking very clearly so I did not snap as many pictures as I usually do. We were there fraggin' early, mon! We decided not to go to opening ceremonies this time since last year's was so boring and walked around just looking at the cosplayers. My brain-deadedness forced Mi-chan to take matters into her own hands and she actually went up to people and took their pics. I am so proud of her. :: Chuckles :: I just was not in the picture taking mood since my brain was DEAD. I mean, I was up until nearly 4AM and got up at 7:30AM. What did you think my brain would be like? We wasted a lot of time walking around, but one of the cool things was that Eurobeat King actually took our picture! He did not last year, but this year he did. Links found [here] and [here]. The funny thing was that I was cosplaying Cooro, a very genki character from +Anima and I was just really sleepy Cooro most of the day. Mi-chan is the Senri.
So, yeah, spent lots of time walking around. Took some pictures. Went down to the first floor of the convention around lunchtime for the Otaku Forever Meetup. Only a few people showed up on Friday. We had talked a bit, took more pictures of people there. Gravey and Mochuchuwa showed up dressed up as Kira and L handcuffed together, with their hair straightened! Shocking and crazy considering how curly the Schraub hair is... seriously curly. Brens showed up as Lupin. She loves Lupin. And Mochuchuwa's friends showed up as Mini-Mandy and Grim Jr. The MM was so cute. They went up to the dealer's room later that day and got free posters from the Snafu booth 'cuz they were cosplaying those characters. I was jealous. I love the comics on Snafu. While we were waiting for more people from the group to show, there was some guys in Aperture labcoats with a companion cube. One of the guys had a guitar and started singing Still Alive and the crowd went wild! Well, not really, we just started singing along and had a ton of fun! I got video of it and snapped a few shots of the front and the back of the performer. Very cool.
After waiting about an hour and a half for noone else to show, we went back up to find where Vic was going to have his panel. Thank gooshness they had the foresight to give him a huge room this time. There were already people sitting by the door waiting. We waited around for a bit for the prior panel to finish up, but decided to go in just as they were finishing up. One of them was like, "Where'd all these people come from? There must be something big coming after us." We laughed and people shouted out, "VIC!!!" Ah, it all makes sense now. As always, Vic was a total cut-up. He came in dressed as Captain Kirk from Star Trek and had his second dressed up as Spock. I wish I had gotten pictures of that, but never fear, I had videoed the whole thing... I hope. I love Vic. He really cares about his fans. The awesome thing was that his mother was there and you could tell he really adores his mother.
Uh, cannot remember too much of what went on later that day. I believe we went to the dealer's room at some point, spent some money, passed by Kitty Cafe maybe? I dunno. I know we ate at some point. Hmm... blurry memories those. We changed into our Sgt. Frog jammies around 8pm, I think. Ah... took some compromising pictures of Tamama and Kero. It was interesting. I think we stayed up for a bit, but I was tired and went to bed.
And that was the first day of the con as far as I can remember it.

previous - next


Created by Fantasy Graphics

Listen Here! A dryer of some sort...

Give Me A Break! Hunger...

Piccy of the week: I love my YRLY hat...


Scatflipza

Missed something?

Bad days happen... - Friday, Sept. 13, 2013
Annoying things are annoying... - Thursday, Aug. 08, 2013
Out with the old... - Saturday, Jul. 20, 2013
Yeesh... - Sunday, Mar. 10, 2013
Such exciting things... - Monday, Sept. 24, 2012

Leave me some comments...
0 comments so far

Whee! The greatest fantabulous List of Time Wasters on the InterWeb. Click only if you have nothing better to do. This is a warning.


All wordage and weirdness
� RoaPearl, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012.


Visitor Map
Create your own visitor map!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
>>Eccentricity 'R Me!<<


Angry Kyou in Uniform


Newest Entry
archives
profile
characters
notes
diary rings
surveys
insight
searched
random
host





I hope this is all right...

~~Rings~~
-


Don't look at me... I did not do it.